Second Language Writing (SLWIS)

Latest Discussions

  • Hello!   Please join us for a Webinar!   TESOL's Supporting Students with Disabilities (SSDIS) Interest ...

  • Susmita,  I am so glad you were able to watch the recording and started thinking about what we presented/discussed. ...

  • Hi! I just watched the recorded version. It was really good. It has set me thinking. Best, Susmita ...

  • Here's a link to the SLWIS Book Club discussion of Changing Practices for the L2 Writing Classroom ...

  • Reminder that the SLWIS Book Club discussion will be tomorrow (Monday, July 13), at 6pm Central time. ...


The Second Language Writing IS (SLWIS) exists to facilitate interaction among TESOL members who desire to further the teaching and research of second language (L2) writing in different contexts and settings, including ESL and EFL. We aim to define issues and standards in ESL/EFL writing by discussing many issues in the field of L2 writing and establishing standards by which to evaluate ESL/EFL writing materials and applications. We work toward TESOL's mission and strategic direction by disseminating information regarding ESL/EFL writing, maintaining communication between members, and serving as avenues for the exchange of research, theory, materials, and approaches pertaining to ESL/EFL writing. We also work toward generating an understanding of L2 writing with TESOL members and organizing and coordinating L2 writing sessions with other interest sections as well as organizations outside of TESOL. Lastly, we aim to foster L2 writing research activities among our members and with other TESOL members.

SLWIS LEADERS, 2020-2021

Chair: @Aylin Baris Atilgan
Chair-Elect: @Sarah Henderson Lee
Past Chair: @Betsy Gilliland
Members-at-Large: Estela Ene and @Megan Siczek