myTESOL Lounge

Call for 2020 Steering Committee Member Nomination

  • 1.  Call for 2020 Steering Committee Member Nomination

    Posted 14-02-2020 15:57

    Dear CALL-IS members,

    Have you ever thought of taking on a more active membership role and service the CALL-IS or the 21st Electronic Village and Technology Showcases? This year, we have three vacancies on the Steering Committee. 

    Read the information below to familiarize yourself with the role and the responsibilities and decide if you would like to take on an active position and serve the CALL-IS.  

    General knowledge about the Steering Committee (SC):

    The CALL Interest Section Steering Committee shall consist of the Officers, nine Members-at-Large, and the Newsletter Editor(s).

    Members-at-Large of the Steering Committee shall hold office for three years. The term of office shall be from the close of one annual TESOL Convention until the close of the annual Convention three years hence. Three members shall be elected annually.

    The Steering Committee shall meet at least once during the annual TESOL Convention and before the annual business (open) meeting. So far as practicable, the membership of the Steering Committee shall represent the professional interests and geographic diversity of the CALL-IS.

     In general, the duties of the Steering Committee are:

    1. To determine policies for the operation of the CALL-IS.
    2. To conduct long-range planning for the CALL-IS, developing projects and programs as are necessary to achieve the goals of TESOL and CALL-IS.
    3. To support the Chair and Chair-elect in efforts to obtain close liaison with other TESOL groups and other professional organizations having similar concerns.
    4. To establish committees as required and to give them specific direction and instructions; to approve the appointments of all members by the Chair.
    5. To appoint the Editor/s of the CALL-IS newsletter. (duty fulfilled)

    Specifically, the SC members are expected to work collaboratively in the planning, organization, and implementation of the 21st Century Electronic Village and Technology Showcase events; the members may serve on committees that plan and manage the EV or an EV event, including the EV Fair, EV Fair Classics, Orientation to Technology, Fablabs & Makerspaces (Mini-workshops), Developers' Showcase & Fablab, Mobile Apps for Education & Fablab, Tech Guru Bar, Electronic Village Online (EVO), Webcast Development Team, and CALL-IS webinars.

    SC Member Qualifications:

    The SC Members-at-Large are expected to:

    • Be members of the CALL-IS in myTESOL
    • Have previous involvement with the CALL-IS and/or the Electronic Village as a presenter or volunteer at EV events.
    • Have collaboration skills.
    • Have good organizational skills
    • State their intention to attend all TESOL Annual Conventions occurring in each year of the elected term of service.

    SC Member Duties and Responsibilities:

    The SC Members-at-Large are expected to:

    • Serve on the Steering Committee according to the points listed above.
    • Attend the 2020 TESOL Convention, and be present for the SC election during the Open Meeting (April 2, 2020 at 6 pm).
    • Attend each TESOL Convention until the end of the designated term, if possible. A SC Member-at-Large may serve the Interest Section throughout the year even if it is not possible to serve at the Convention.
    • Participate in, or coordinate, at least one of the EV events designated in the description above.

    The Nominating Committee members, the SC members or a CALL-IS member may nominate a person for the position. The deadline of doing so is March 11,, 2020. The nomination may be submitted by email message to any of the nominating committee members.

    The candidate needs to submit:

    • Name of nominee running for SC Member-at-large
    • 100-word bio for the election ballot – include previous service to the CALL-IS and/or EV committees
    • List of areas of interest in the CALL-IS or EV events if elected
    • A statement of intent to attend the upcoming four TESOL Convention (2020, 2021, 2022, 2023)

    Nominations will not be accepted after March 11th.

    The Election:
    Voting for the SC members will take place during the CALL-IS Open Meeting on Thursday, April 2, 2020 at 6:00 pm in CCC 712. The names of the three new SC members will be announced at the end of the meeting.

    If you have any questions, please contact the Nominating Committee members.
    We look forward to hearing from you


    The 2020 Nominating Committee

    Christine Sabieh, Chair (

    Sam Adams (

    Marta Halaczkiewicz (

    Jose Antonio Da Silva (

    Christine Sabieh
    Full Professor
    Notre Dame University